The following is the list of requirements for obtaining a marriage license in the State of Texas:
ID Requirements, as Required by Family Code 2.005 (B)
- A valid driver's license or other acceptable ID, issued by the state, another state, the United States, or a foreign government.
- Your Social Security card or knowledge of the number.
- If you have been divorced and your name has not been changed on your ID/Driver's License and you want to use your maiden name on the marriage license, bring a certified copy of your divorce decree which states your name is to be changed to your maiden name.
- Not required to be a resident or citizen
- If both applicants are out-of-state residents according to their identification, then there will be a $100 fee added to the $82 according to HB 555.
If Divorced Within Last 30 Days
If your divorce was finalized within the last 30 days, provide a certified copy of the divorce decree which waives the 30-day waiting period.
Both parties must appear to apply, unless accompanied by an approved Absent Applicant Affidavit.
Marriage & Relationship Workshop
Twogether in Texas
- Engaged, single, dating or married couples can attend this 8-hour fun interactive class.
- To register or for more information see the Twogether in Texas website for further assistance.
- Workshop certificate is valid for one year.
- Couples will receive a $60 savings on the purchase of a marriage license.
There are no blood test requirements.
According to Texas Family Code, Chapter 2 Sec. 2.204 of the Texas Family Code, the marriage ceremony may not take place during a 72-hour period immediately following the issuance of the marriage license unless:
- An applicant is a member of the Armed Forces of the United States and is on active duty,
- An applicant obtains a waiver from District Court or
- Attend the Twogether in Texas workshop
In accordance with 2.201 of Texas Family Code, Expiration of License, effective September 1, 2013, the Marriage License will expire the 91st day following the date of issuance.
Requirements for Underage Applicants (Age 16 to 18): Family Code 2.103
Please contact your local County Clerk's office for information.
Persons Authorized to Conduct Ceremony
- Licensed or ordained Christian Ministers and Priests, Jewish Rabbis, or persons who are officers of religious organizations; and who are duly authorized by the organization to conduct marriage ceremonies;
- Justices of the Supreme Court, Judges of the Court of Criminal Appeals, Justices of the Courts of Civil Appeals, Judges of the District, County and Probate Courts, Judges of the County Courts at Law, Courts of Domestic Relations and Juvenile Courts, Justices of the Peace, and Judges of the Federal Courts of this State, retired municipal court Judge and retired Judge or magistrate of a Federal Court of this state.
License Valid for?
The license is only valid for 90 days within the State of Texas from date of issuance.