Tax Assessor

Mission Statement

“The Kaufman County Tax Office Employees are a Dedicated Group of Individuals Trained to Provide Kaufman County Citizens with Exceptional Customer Service using Optimum Technology to Guarantee Quality Collections.”

Duties of the Tax Assessor-Collector

The major tax duty of the assessor-collector, who collects property taxes, is the assessment (calculation) of taxes on each property in the county and collection of that tax as established by the Constitution and the State Property Tax Code. In addition, as an agent of the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, the assessor-collector is responsible for the registration and licensing of motor vehicles owned by residents of the county. Another duty of the county tax assessor-collector is that of voter registrar. The County Tax Assessor-Collector is also responsible for the collections of special fees imposed by the County and state on coin-operated vending machines, alcoholic beverage permits.

View All
  1. Teressa Floyd

    Tax Assessor Collector

  2. Kaufman - County Courthouse Annex

    Physical Address
    100 N Washington St
    Kaufman, TX 75142


    Phone: : 469-376-4689

    Hours 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM, M-F

  3. Forney - Sub Courthouse

    Physical Address
    200 E Main St
    Forney, TX 75126


    Phone: : 469-376-4600

    Hours 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM, M-F

  4. Terrell - Sub Courthouse

    Physical Address
    408 E College St
    Terrell, TX 75160


    Phone: : 469-376-4728

    Hours 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM, M-F

  5. Kemp - Sub Courthouse

    Physical Address
    103 N Main St
    Kemp, TX 75143


    Phone: : 469-376-4626

    Hours 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM, M-F

    (Kemp office closed daily from 12 noon - 12:30 PM for lunch)