Skip to contents

Kaufman County Hosts Quarterly Sexual Assault Response Team Meeting

Based on Texas law, the Kaufman County Commissioners Court unanimously approved the establishment of the Kaufman County Sexual Assault Response Team (SART) at the end of 2021. The Court established this team to comply with Senate Bill 476, in the 87th Texas Legislature which mandates that all Texas counties form an adult sexual assault abuse response team in an effort to create a statewide infrastructure of resources, awareness, connection, and coordination to address sex crimes locally. 

The SART brings together law enforcement agencies, the criminal prosecutor’s office, a sexual assault nurse examiner and mental health providers.  This team’s focus is to create a system that reduces traumatization, prioritizes victim safety, and provides the resources to the victims that they need. 

“Making sure that offenders are held accountable and healing the survivors of sexual assault is the goal of the DA’s Office.  Working along with the SART makes that job easier for our office and begins the process of healing the victims of these heinous crimes,” stated District Attorney Erleigh N. Wiley. 

Pictured at the most recent quarterly meeting of the SART are team members:

Back Row – Right to Left

Mike Holley – Chief Investigator, Kaufman County District Attorney’s Office; Danny Howard – Kaufman County Sheriff’s Department; Jason Stastny – Kaufman Police Department; James Massey – Crandall Police Department; Bryan Beavers – Sheriff, Kaufman County Sheriff’s Department; Susan Huffman – Texas Health Resources – Kaufman; Jason Tidwell – Terrell Police Department; Carol Williams – North Texas Behavioral Health Authority; Jeremy Jones – Crandall Police Department; Kristen Tucker – Paralegal, Kaufman County District Attorney’s Office

Front Row – Right to Left

Erleigh Wiley – Kaufman County District Attorney; Sonia Sims – Texas Health Resources – Kaufman; Robyn Beckham – Assistant District Attorney, Kaufman County District Attorney’s Office; Brenda Bulin – Terrell Police Department